Special Promotions

Facebook & Twitter

Entry requirements to Costa Rica

Updated on November 2013

Citizens holding valid passports from the following countries are permitted to stay in Costa Rica for 90 days without a visa:

Andorra, Argentina, Australia*, Austria, Bahamas, Barbados, Belgium, Brazil, Bulgaria, Canada, Chile, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark*, Estonia, Finland, France*, Germany, Hellenic Republic (Greece), Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Japan, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, México, Montenegro, Netherlands*, New Zealand*, Norway*, Panama, Paraguay, Poland, Portugal, Principality Of Monaco, Puerto Rico, Republic Of South Korea, Romania, San Marino, Serbia, Singapore, Slovak Republic, Slovenia, South Africa, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Trinidad And Tobago, United Kingdom Of Great Britain And Northern Ireland **, United States*, Uruguay, and Vatican City.

* Their dependencies receive the same treatment
** Include England, Wales and Scotland

*** Starting on July 2007, the Costa Rican authorities will demand that all travelers coming from the following countries (Angola, Benin, Burkina Faso, Cameroon, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Gabon, Gambia, Guinea, Liberia, Nigeria, Sierra Leone, Sudan, Bolivia, Venezuela, Brazil, Peru, Colombia and Ecuador as well as the Republic of Guyana) have a yellow fever vaccination certificate, with at least 10 days before arrival.

Citizens holding valid passports from the following countries are exempt from all visa requirements for stays of 30 days in Costa Rica, though once inside the country, they can apply for extension from the Immigration office, for an authorized period of stay of 90 days:
Antigua and Barbuda, Belize, Bolivia, Dominica, El Salvador, Philippines, Fiji, Grenada, Guatemala, Guyana, Honduras, Northern Marianas, Marshall Islands, Solomon Islands, Kiribati, Maldives, Mauritius, Federated States Of Micronesia, Nauru, Palau, Kingdom Of Tonga, Samoa, Saint Kitts And Nevis, Saint Vincent And The Grenadines, Saint Lucia, Sao Tome And Principe, Seychelles, Suriname, Tuvalu, Turkey, Vanuatu and Venezuela.

Citizens of all countries not listed above are required a visa from a Costa Rican embassy or consulate before traveling.

As in most of the countries, in order to visit Costa Rica, the traveler must show his or her passport. The passport must be valid during the following 6 months from the entry date to Costa Rica.


You may check all the general rules of visas for non residents on this link:

Directrices de Ingreso (Official Document in Spanish)